The Indiana Real Estate Commission requires broker licensees to complete 12 hours of continuing education each year of their three-year license renewal cycle in order to maintain their license. A year in CE terms is July 1 – June 30.  There are no longer mandatory and elective education credit requirements. The exceptions to this are Managing Brokers and brokers licensed after July 1, 2014.

The Indiana Commercial Real Estate Conference offers all 12 hours over the course of it’s schedule.

Conference-Logo-grayscale


Continuing education can be found in a variety of subjects including:

  • Commercial Real Estate – Legislative Issues, Land Development, Financing, and more
  • Appraisal
  • Land Development
  • Law – Anti-trust, license and escrow, civil rights, agency.
  • Contracts
  • Ethics/Professional Standards
  • Settlement Procedures
  • Property Management
  • Farm Property Management

Specific requirements by license type are listed below.

Managing Brokers
 Managing Brokers (formerly Principal Brokers) are required to have a minimum of 4 of the 12-hours of continuing education each year dedicated to the necessary business and management skills and legal knowledge needed by the managing broker.
Brokers
Brokers simply need to complete their 12-hour requirement each year, remembering it must be courses that have been approved by the Indiana Real Estate Commission for continuing education.
Brokers newly licensed since July 1, 2014
 New licensees (any broker who obtained their license after June 30, 2014) are required to complete 30-hours of post-licensing education within the first two years of licensure. ICBR does not offer post-licensing education. The 30-hours must include education in the following areas in the time allocation listed:

  • Indiana Real Estate Transactions – 6-hours
  • Financing – 6-hours
  • Business Planning/Sales and Marketing – 10-hours
  • Negotiating and Counseling – 5-hours
  • Cultural Diversity and Fair Housing – 1-hour
  • Construction – 2-hours

New licensees can view the full list of education requirements by subject by clicking here. 

 License Issue Date 30-hr Post-licensing Course Requirement   First Yearly 12-hour CE Requirement
 Prior to July 1, 2014  Not applicable Deadline for current license year: June 30, 2017
 July 1, 2014 – June 30, 2015 Within two years of license issue date July 1, 2017 – June 30, 2018
 July 1, 2015 – June 30, 2016 Within two years of license issue date July 1, 2018 – June 30, 2019
 July 1, 2016 – June 30, 2017 Within two years of license issue date  July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2020
 July 1, 2017 – June 30, 2018 Within two years of license issue date  July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2021
 July 1, 2018 – June 30, 2019  Within two years of license issue date  July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2022