Close this search box.

Indiana Commercial Board of REALTORS® Awards 2013 REALTOR® of the Year
2013 Indiana Commercial Real Estate Conference attracts nearly 350 state professionals

J Steven Martin_2013 REALTOR of the YearINDIANAPOLIS – The Indiana Commercial Real Estate Conference hosted by the Indiana Commercial Board of REALTORS® (ICBR) announced the top industry award, REALTOR® of the Year, at the association’s annual conference on June 14, 2013 at the JW Marriott Indianapolis. Nearly 350 commercial real estate professionals attended the conference, providing ongoing state education for brokers.

J. Steven Martin, CCIM, CPM, was presented the 2013 REALTOR® of the Year award by ICBR in recognition of his professional success, commitment to furthering the commercial real estate profession and dedication to community service. Martin is a Managing Director and owner of Sperry Van Ness / Martin Commercial Group with offices in Evansville and Indianapolis, Ind. Steve is also the President of The Martin Group, Inc and Managing Member of The Promenade, a 215 acre mixed use development in Evansville.

“Steven is a natural fit for the 2013 REALTOR® of the Year Award, based on his impressive resume alone,” said Janice Paine, 2013 ICBR president. “His dedication and vision has helped transform the commercial real estate industry in Indiana, and his influence has certainly been felt on our board, and the boards of many other professional and community organizations. I am comforted knowing that the future of our industry will be in his hands as the 2014 ICBR President.”

The REALTOR® of the Year award has been presented annually by ICBR since 1994. In addition to membership in ICBR, award criteria include:

As 36-year veteran of the commercial real estate market, Martin has come to be recognized as one of the top brokers in the state for his extensive experience in the sale of multifamily, retail and commercial properties in Indiana and Kentucky with transactions valued at more than $500 million. Prior to joining Sperry Van Ness, Martin served as Principal Broker and Corporate Secretary/Treasurer for RE/Max Commercial Services / Martin Commercial Group. He also served in various capacities in property management, asset management, syndication, development, general contracting and brokerage for the Martin Group of Companies. Martin has been a speaker and course instructor for various Rural Development, HUD and Tax Credit seminars and conferences, and a featured speaker at the Affordable Housing Conference in Ind., Ill. and Fla.

“I am humbled to receive the 2013 REALTOR® of the Year Award, not only from ICBR but from my peers in the commercial real estate industry from across the state,” said Martin. “This is an incredible honor that I am thankful to have been able to share with my father, brother, sons and daughters, and numerous other family and team members who have all contributed to the profession over the years in some way.”

Martin has continuously been a leader in the business community, serving as an officer and/or board member of many local business and not-for-profit organizations both inside and outside of the industry. Martin’s professional and personal activities include:

Board Positions (Professional & Civic):

Honors & Awards:

Education / Licenses & Designations:

Association Memberships – Professional:

Personal Interests:


The Indiana Commercial Real Estate Conference is recognized as the premier event for real estate professionals to earn commercial continuing education credits and to gather with like-minded peers. This year’s event was sponsored by Cassidy Turley, Hays & Sons Complete Restoration, Summit Realty Group/Cushman & Wakefield, Sperry Van Ness Commercial Real Estate Advisors, Colliers International, Duke Realty, Fifth Third Bank, Ginovus, Steffen Group, Zeller Realty Group, Benesch Friedlander Coplan & Aronoff LLP, Citimark, Holladay Properties, Krieg Devault. For complete details, visit

ICBR is a commercial overlay board for commercial real estate professionals. Its members are dedicated to serving the needs of commercial clients in aspects of brokerage, leasing, appraising, property management, and development. ICBR has a statewide membership base of more than 600 professionals. For more information, visit the ICBR website at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *